Newbie - Multiple Users share one Zotero library

Hi,
I'm quite new to Zotero and we are looking for a good solution for literature handling in my university department. I understand that Zotero with Sync will provide a shared Zotero library for multiple users via the Zotero server. Where is this server hosted? On the internet or in the local network? Is there just one login to it or can it handle e.g. Windows Vista user logins?

Thanks in advance,
martin
  • Please search for more information, but here is a summary:

The Zotero sync server is on the internet, currently hosted by GMU. It uses your Zotero forums username and password, and there is no choice for alternative AUTH. There are no plans to make a version that you can run on your own server at this time. This server syncronizes the database content, but not your files. You can sync the files over a WebDAV server of your choosing; GMU does not provide a service for this, but you can self-host or use third-party services (free or commercial). Different WebDAV servers use different AUTH mechanisms.

Currently, the sync server works for one username only. Multiple people can share a username now, of course. And there are plans to support groups of multiple users.
  • Hi Guys, have their been any updates on this matter?

I work for a professor who asked me to create a database of all his citations. I've done that, and now need to figure out the best way to transfer it to him. Ideally I would like him to be able to open the library and be able to sync with Zotero with his own user name and password, rather than being stuck with the one I originally selected to create the database. Another professor I support wants me to do the same thing for her, so eventually I'd like to get this transferred to Professor A, wipe out my library, and then rebuild a new one for Professor B.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated...thank you!
  • edited November 3, 2010