JabRef to Zotero!

I started with the same problem faced with a lot of people who have already posted on this forum, but inspite of employing the troubleshooting suggested, I am unable to resolve the issue - if I export a library from JabRef to Zotero, the pdf and external files are lost; moreover, the sub-groups I have made in JabRef are not getting transferred.

I am not a programmer, so you can understand if I say I have spent too much time to understand even the basic stuff. I am really eager to migrate to zotero, so please try and help.

I have the latest versions of both.
I have tried the following fixes:

http://forums.zotero.org/discussion/6426/smooth-migration-from-jabref-to-zotero/

and some more that are already present on your forum (I found this fix the asiest to follow!).
In this fix, noksagt recommends using a patch given in https://www.zotero.org/trac/ticket/1514
I dont know how to use the .diff file presented!

So is there any way for a 'really smooth' migration from JabRef to Zotero? Can someone please lay it out stepwise for me?

Thanks a ton

Sandhya
  • if I export a library from JabRef to Zotero, the pdf and external files are lost;
    This should work. Can you provide an example of a single record that this fails on?
    moreover, the sub-groups I have made in JabRef are not getting transferred.
    Zotero does not import group information from BibTeX. AFAIK, this is peculiar to JabRef. If you have a limited number of groups, you can work around this by exporting each group and importing it into zotero individually.
    In this fix, noksagt recommends using a patch given in https://www.zotero.org/trac/ticket/1514
    This has already been applied to the translator (more than a year ago).
  • edited August 30, 2010
    Got it with the groups idea - I was thinking the same, I just thought there may be a neater way of doing the same.