customizing imports from Endnote

Hi- I'm attempting to switch to Zotero from Endnote, which I've been using for many years. My biggest problem seems to be importing "Manuscript" files, and a customized reference type I created called "Letters." I notice that Zotero has both these reference types, but the transfer doesn't seem to be supported through RIS-- the manuscripts are coming through as websites, for example, and many fields are lost. I've seen the RIS format specifications, but where can I find info about how Zotero is actually translating that RIS code into Zotero fields? And is it at all possible for me to customize how Zotero imports things? This is getting very frustrating and while Zotero looks much better than Endnote in some ways, I doubt I'll be able to make this move if I can't customize the import. I just have too many strange quirks in my databases. Plus it's a point in Endnote's favor that I can customize both export and import styles there... Please help!
  • this is a difficult issue and has been discussed in many posts before. please search for endnote import on the forums.
    for a start see here:
    http://forums.zotero.org/discussion/7441/import-from-endnote-ris-translator-editor-edited-book-extra-titles-as-notes/

for how csl maps fields see here:
    http://www.zotero.org/support/dev/csl_syntax_summary
  • You can get a sense for what Zotero's field mappings look like for RIS here. (This doc is not regularly updated, but I don't think there are any major differences with RIS since this was created)
    http://www.zotero.org/support/kb/field_mappings

The biggest problem here is that RIS just does not support much of the information you are interested in.