how to add footnotes?

I'm new to Zotero. How do I add a footnote in Word? I would like to use the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition.

Whenever I try to do it, it only inserts the last name of the author.

Let's say I wanted to add a footnote like this. How would I do it?

Robert L. Thomas, How to Choose a Bible Version: An Introductory Guide to English Translations (Ross-shire, Great Britain: Mentor/Christian Focus, 2000) 103.

Here's what I already tried:

I have my Word document open. I added a footnote, placed the cursor in the empty footnote, then I selected the icon "Zotero Bibliographic Management: Zotero Insert Citation," then I selected the book I want and added the page number.

The only problem with this is I do NOT want to add an in-text citation, but I want to add a regular footnote (see above for the type of format). Every time it only adds the last name and page number.

Thanks a lot!!
David
  • 1. Don't insert the footnote in Word - Zotero will do that for you.
    2. As a style - select "Chicago Full Note with Bibliography" - you can do that in the "Document Preferences" (or "Document Settings") in the Zotero Menu in Word.
  • Adam, is there any way I can correspond just w/ you. I have some further questions about this.

I really appreciate your helpl!!
  • no - this is on a forum for reasons:
    - I might or might not have time to come back and answer, in which time someone else can take over
    - I might not know an answer that someone else does
    - someone else may later have the same questions you have now and find them here
    etc.
    If you need private one-on-one support, find an e-librarian of your trust at your institution.
  • Thanks a lot for the explanation about forums.

(1) I found the doc preferences and I changed it to Chicago Manual of Style (Full Note with Bibliography).

(2) What do you mean by Zotero adding the footnote for me?