Interviews in Book form

Most of the interviews I work with are published in book form. The problem right now is that if I choose to index them as books, I don't have an option to mark the interviewer or the person interviewed. If I index them as interviews, then many of the fields I need for my citation are not available (i.e. place, publisher, isbn, etc.).

I can see two possible solutions: one would be adding the missing fields to the 'interview' form, which I cannot do manually since I am not a developer; or two, add the option to add interviewer to the creator drop-down menu under the 'book' form. Since I also have the same problem with published dissertations, a general solution would really help.

Short of Zotero implementing the change for future versions, can anyone help me add the code to my personal Zotero that would allow me add fields to current items without damaging the database? Is that even possible? Please be gentle with me. I am a new to this whole thing and have slept little for the past couple of days transferring all my text-based biblios to the Zotero interface.
  • I see that there weren't any responses to this thread from nearly two years ago. I'm having the same problem right now, and I think this would be an excellent addition to the next update of Zotero.
  • unlikely that something is going to move that fast, but for a start, how would such a citation look in a common citation style?
  • No prob on the speed of implementation. I have no idea how these things work. I'd just like to see it at some point.

Note in Chicago Manual of Style format:

Judith Butler, "Changing the Subject: Judith Butler’s Politics of Radical Resignification," interview by Gary A. Olson and Lynn Worsham, Journal of Advanced Composition, 20 (Fall 2000): 733.