Customized Item

Hi all;

I'm quite new at this, but let me start by saying what a great tool Zotero is.
What I wanted to know is if there is a way to make customized items in Zotero?
Let's say I have some sort of database already done with a certain number of fields and names allready defined (and I do :) ), how can I import this into Zotero without having to adjust my fields to the ones in any item available? I mean, if I allready have some kind of classification system/method wich makes sense to me, it would be easier to use some sort of template with the same field.
Please feel free to move this around since I'm not sure I've posted it in the correct place.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers.
  • There is no customizable item type, largely for data portability reasons. People have generally found the item types in Zotero flexibly enough for most purposes, with soime limitations that are slowly being worked out.

This may mean that you will need to take a lot of care in importing your data, but at least you can then be sure that it can be exchanged and cited reliably.
  • Also, if there are specific types of data that you're having trouble modeling using the existing Zotero item types and fields, please post-- people here have managed to model a remarkable range of materials using the existing types.
  • Would it still be possible to include an "sort of blank" item template?
    It could be called blank or something and would include perhaps three or four named fields, like for instance: Name, Author, Year, Summary and afterwards about 10 or 15 fields only with numbers as titles and all text type with a reasonable number of characters:

Publication Title/Name:
    Author(s):
    Year:
    Summary:
    1:
    2:
    3:
    9:
    10:

that way a certain flexibility would be available for us users
    I could then, when sharing my Zotero exported file include some sort of "understandable" explanation file like:

Field nÂș Purpose