Multiple users of one computer

I am new to zotero, and so far it looks like a great tool. I have recommended that my students check it out to use. We have a class set of laptops that are shared with other classes from time to time. If my students establish a zotero library, will their library be usable by anyone else who uses the same computer at a different time? They are concerned about this, as students sometimes have little concern for the work others have done, and a library that is readily available could be altered without the owner's knowledge. Am I missing some obvious place to lock the library so that each new user must establish his/her own library?
  • HI tthomas,

there has been discussion on the forum (see: http://forums.zotero.org/discussion/2266/ ) about that topic. There is no easy way to use different librarys in zotero. And although I would apreciate this feture a lot, it seems there wont be the feature on the way.

For your purpose the best work-around could be to give every student his own firefox profile on the laptop. Every profile has its own library.

greetings
    olaf
  • Thanks so much for your response. I will work with my students to create their own profiles. They love the idea of having one and are already thinking about which persona they'll use -- zebra or Ed Hardy or whatever. I wish they were that concerned about what we're actually learning!
  • Separate profiles will work, but if they all log on to the computer under the same username, I believe the databases would still be accessible to anyone who uses the Zotero preferences to link to a particular individual's database (though I suppose there might be a way to password protect Firefox profiles). Another option would be to set Zotero to save data to a USB drive from the advanced tab of the preferences window. That way each student could keep all their Zotero data on their own thumb drive.