APA 6th new style

• I've looked into the code a little. The error appears to be a little higher up. The code you quoted is for when a variable is used.
    The problem seams to be that the macro returns am empty string for some reason. I tried changing the sort to only the issued-year macro and it would try to sort the items by an empty key. Both keyA and keyB are set to '{"format":"Sort","string":[]}' (JSON) by the macro. I'll try to look into the execution of the macro if I find some time but as I'm new to the Zotero code it might take a little until I can further localize the issue.
  • I've managed to localize the bug. Since I'm not quite sure what the intended behavior is meant to be, I describe how it could be changed:
    Inside csl.js:
    1: if(formattedString.format == "Sort") {
    2: variableString.append(date.getDateVariable("sort"));
    3: } else {

This shows that dates will be handled differently if used as a sort key. Unfortunately, the variableString it is appended to is never returned. Adding the follow line between lines 2 and 3 resolves the problem: newString.concat(variableString);
    This solution would continue the current procedure of handling dates as sort keys differently to regular dates. I'm not quite sure why this is in place and would actually remove this. After all sorting should be comprehensible for a reader and not use hidden variables such as a month for example that is not used in APA (for most sources).

Any ideas what to do with this finding?
  • unless you want to post it to the dev list, I'll do that later today. Thanks!
  • I'll post it later then :)