The Zotero Library dataset

I'm an enthusiastic user, evangelist, and sometime hacker of Zotoro. I'm also a doc student in information science, and I'm interested in looking at Zotero as part of my current research.

I'm particularly interested in using data from the social web to better measure the impact of scholarly writing. This is an area that people are starting to get excited about (a great article was just published in PLoS Biology last week), and I think it's going to really be significant over the next few years.

Two of the biggest players in this area, CiteULike and Connotea, are facilitating this kind of investigation by making their user-article-tag data available to researchers, either as an API (Connotea) or as a big 'ol download (CiteULike). So far as I can see, though, Zotero hasn't done this for public libraries. Of course, you could scrape them, but that's a pain.

Zotero has really set itself apart my keeping it's code free and open. I think it would be great to be the same way with the library data. So, my questions:
1) Is there any way to get a dump of the library data, in whatever format?
2) If not, is there any way for me to encourage Zotero folks to make that happen?
  • Open data has been a core principle of Zotero from the beginning.

There's a REST API, which is used, among other things, for the feeds you see on public library pages. The API isn't yet complete and documentation hasn't been published, but we'll be providing documentation in the near future.
  • That's great to hear, Dan. Like I said, I've always had tremendous respect for Zotero's open approach.

Do you have an estimate of when we might see a working API? I ask because I want to know if I should start working on scraping or not; I'm hoping to have data I can use in January or so, for a article I'll be submitting.