Zotero does not activate when used through EZProxy

I'm a student at the University of Massachusetts. When doing research from home, I access sites like JSTOR, etc., using the school's EZProxy server. This changes my URLs, making them look something like this:

http://www.jstor.org.eresources.lib.umb.edu/view/0066622x/ap050006/05a00030/

instead of

http://www.jstor.org/view/0066622x/ap050006/05a00030/

When on-campus, and lucky enough to be using a machine with Firefox 2.0 and Zotero, the latter URL works perfectly. When working from home, via proxy, Zotero is unable to recognize JSTOR or EBSCOhost, etc. and the icon does not appear.

Is there a solution, workaround, or fix for this? Is one in the works?

How does Zotero recognize sites, anyway? From this problem, I assume it is by URL and not by metadata within the pages.
  • I've had the same problem, through the University of Wisconsin's ezproxy server. Zotero recognizes sites only when I'm not using the proxy, but I can only actually read the articles when I am using the proxy. Quite the catch-22.
  • The Google Scholar translator isn't working through Harvard's EZProxy, which adds .ezp1.harvard.edu to the domain name.
  • Likewise via Columbia and Rutgers resources. This is obviously very important to many users.
  • i'm having the same problem via drexel med's ezproxy.
  • Zotero does have some EZProxy support. While I have access to only two EZProxy-based systems, it works fine with both. It is quite possible that it doesn't work with others, but unfortunately, my ability to test your specific sites is limited.
  • I just tried this again. Zotero worked fine through EZProxy on ABC-CLIO, but wouldn't work with either jstor or my university's library catalog (UW Madison).
  • *Still* failing for Google Scholar through Harvard's EZProxy. For example, on this search:

http://scholar.google.com/scholar?sourceid=Mozilla-search&q=%22Dispositional+theories+of+value%22