webdav(4shared) verification failed

Report ID: 793461229

My error message says "WebDAV verification failed. Verify your file sync settings in the Sync pane of the Zotero preferences."
I've been using 4shared as my WebDAV for a couple of months and had no problems so far. No ID/pw changed.
I logged in Zotero today and found this WebDAV verification problem. Any related comments would be helpful for me.

Thank you in advance.
  • same as me
    it did work yesterday but now I cannot connect to webdav based 4shared
  • Exactly the same situation here.
    By clicking the "Verify Server" button I got the message "http://webdav.4shared.com/zotero/ is not a valid WebDAV URL."

However, I could get access to the files through the 4shared website. I don't know what happened.
  • Same with me. I have been working with 4shared for about a year and I never encountered any such problem. It all started from yesterday. Don't have any clue what's happening.
  • Yesterday there were news about a malware (called bumblebee) that is abusing 4shared's webdav platform. I'm guessing it's related, otherwise it's a hell of a coincidence.
  • edited September 20, 2023
    Yep, and looks like that attack was specifically related to WebDAV:

https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/security/bumblebee-malware-returns-in-new-attacks-abusing-webdav-folders/

If you're experiencing this, you'll need to ask 4shared for any updates. This isn't a problem in Zotero itself, and there's no need for further posts saying that it's happening to you.
  • I disagree that it's not a problem in Zotero.
    From what I can tell (it's happening to me too, at the worst possible time in the semester) 4shared has changed the path from which webdav is shared to end in ".html". Zotero seems to be hardwired to end the path with '/zotero' so there's no way to put the new path into the Zotero client.
  • edited September 21, 2023