Public closed group links failing when shared in Canvas

Apologies that I can't provide report IDs, I'm writing on behalf of 2 of my students and trying to understand what's up with their groups.

I'm a new librarian supporting a writing and research in a specific scientific discipline undergrad course at an R2 university. One of the assignments our students were given were to find some articles on a topic and share their article list (and prove they understood a Zotero lesson) by providing a link to a public closed Zotero group containing their articles via Canvas.

For 2 of my students out of 17, neither I nor the course instructor could access the groups -- both of us were getting messages reading "Library will be viewable after joining this group." when we navigated to their link. But in class, the 2 students were able to show us on their devices (both Windows laptops) that they had indeed created a public closed group that contained their articles. The rest of the class didn't have this issue and successfully submitted links to public closed groups.

For helping these 2 students complete the assignment now, and if I give this assignment again, why would most students' public closed group links work as intended, but 2 of them not? Are there troubleshooting methods I should use with these students, and better directions that I can use for future classes? For directions for this class, I shared the Groups documentation page with them during lecture and then walked around and individually helped answer questions about creating the group and sharing the link during work time. The goals of the assignment were 1. knowledge check that they can use, and are using, Zotero to organize their research; 2. make the article list easily available to the instructor to evaluate the articles they found so they can choose one to do 2nd assignment with.