Importing from Mendeley

Hi there,
I'd like to make the switch from Mendeley to Zotero. I've been using Mendeley for over 10 years, and have tons of documents and references in folders that I'd like imported into Zotero. Zotero has imported all of the folders (great!) but most of the files and citations within them are missing. Any suggestions?
  • Do you see the items in those collections in your online Mendeley library?
  • Yes - they all show up in my online Mendeley library.
  • Do you see the items in the library root in Zotero? In other words, are they not in the collections or did they not get imported at all?

Try the import again, and in case it doesn't work generate a Debug ID for the process and submit that if you're still missing things.
  • I'm not sure what that means. In one folder, for example, five entries appear in my Zotero folder of the same name. In Mendeley there are hundreds.
  • I'm saying to click on My Library and see whether they items are in the library, whether or not they're in the collections.

https://www.zotero.org/support/collections_and_tags#the_zotero_collections_model
  • Gotcha. It's not there.
  • OK, try the import again and generate a Debug ID.

How many total items are in your Mendeley library online?
  • (And you should leave "Download new items only; don't update previously imported items" enabled when repeating the import.)
  • Not sure - where do I find that info? And yes.
  • edited February 14, 2023
    The number of items, you mean? I can't help with Mendeley, but, I don't know — select all items and see if it tells you how many there are. Zotero tells you in the right-hand pane when you click on the library.
  • I am referring to your question about how many items are in my Mendeley library. Where do I find that information?
  • Ah great. 3686 in Mendeley. 2643 in Zotero.