Open University Harvard Style - citing same author multiple times

Hi,

I am new to using Zotero, but understand from other forum posts that it should be possible for Zotero to automatically add letters a, b, c etc for citing the same author multiple times.

I can add the relevant letter using the "suffix" box, but that means I have to manually edit all the relevant references if I remove / add a citation. It is also leaving a space between the year and the letter I add in the "suffix" box.

The citation would need to look like this:

Vittersø et al., 2019a, but is inserted into Word like this Vittersø et al., 2019 a

If I use the editor to remove the unwanted space then the citation no longer automatically updates nor can I add an additional author once inserted in my document.

When I add the bibliography authors are only added once whereas they would need to be included multiple times with the relevant alphabetical suffix as part of the bibliography.

Update: one of my citations is automatically adding the alphabetic reference, however it is starting with "a" for the first citation when this should only start from the second reference. I can't see anything different with this particular reference and have deleted the reference completely and then added it again to Zotero as a new reference with the same results.

Appreciate any assistance you can provide.

• Generally speaking, the style should just do this and does for me. First thing I'd try is to switch to a different style and back. If that doesn't work, could you please provide a couple of examples of what you're seeing in text and what in the bibliography?

Definitely don't use the suffix field for this.
  • Hi Adam,

I've tried switching to multiple different styles, but have the same issue.

Here are a few examples: