Rename linked files without moving them

Greetings!
I am new to Zotero, so I apologize if this has already been asked or if I am missing something. I did try to search for similar problems, but I am not that "fluent" in Zotero to understand them fully.

Recently I started using Zotero; before that, I was organizing all my PDFs in folders, manually renaming them.

1. I would like to link the existing PDF from my organized folder structure into Zotero (I use Ctrl+SHIFT and drag the PDF to link it to the Parent).
2. I would like to rename the linked PDF using the Parent metadata.
- I understand that this could be done in two ways: using ZotFile or changing the string in Zotero.

-- The Problem: --

1. When I use ZotFile, it only has two options "Rename and Move" and "Get Table of Contents".
- What I want is ONLY to rename, not to move anywhere. I have read that you can bypass that by leaving the option "Custom Location" folder blank. But when I do this, it renames only the PDF's name in Zotero but leaves the linked file with the original, jibberish name in the folder.

2. When I modify the string in Zotero, it does rename the file properly, without moving it, but I feel that renaming options are limited compared to ZotFile? Options like separating multiple authors' names with " ; " or truncating the subtitle.

Is there a more detailed way of modifying the Zotero string, or am I missing something in ZotFile? I am now at the moment when I do not know what I do not know, so any help would be appreciated :)

P.S. For example this entry:

Varela, Francisco J., and Jonathan Shear, eds. 2002. The View from Within: First-Person Approaches to the Study of Consciousness. Thorverton: Imprint Academic.

1. Zotfile renames to this, but not in the folder:

Varela;Shear [2002] - The View from Within - First-person Approaches to the Study of Consciousness.pdf

2. Zotero renames it to this, and in the folder: