Web vs Desktop version

Out little college is transitioning from one overpriced bib software to Zotero, which I think is by far superior (and something I've been using since 2008). My colleagues seem to not understand the difference between the Web version of Zotero from the Desktop version. Does anyone know of a good source that explains the difference (and why) that I could share with folks?
  • edited April 1, 2022
    Desktop application is the primary way of using Zotero and offers complete functionality. Web library is a complementary tool for specific situations: e.g. where you're away from your main computer or there is no Zotero for your platform (e.g. some Chromebooks).

Web library does not sync entire library, instead it fetches only a small subset to display correct information - this enables web version to load any library in reasonable time but limits available functionality and affects performance of some features. Furthermore, since web library exists only in the browser, it cannot open attachments that are linked files (or stored using WebDAV).
  • Thanks tnajdek for the notes. Is there a reason why development went toward a desktop and not have the full functionality with the web. If I recall the initial development was in that direction. For our campus we will have the desktop available on our campus computers but I keep hearing from colleagues they expect the web to be the same as the desktop.

My guess, and it is only a guess, development is much simpler with a desktop than the web.
  • edited April 1, 2022
    Zotero has always been a local tool first, from day one. Syncing and a web library didn't even exist until a few years later. When people refer to "Zotero", they're almost always talking about the desktop app.