Hybrid style: classiques garnier

Hello,

I am writing an article and what is requested is a sort of mixture of Chicago with footnotes and Chicago with in-text citations.
=> The first time a reference shows up, it needs to be a footnote with full citation:

Lawrence Venuti, The Translator’s Invisibility: A History of Translation, Londres/New York, Routledge, 1995, p. 20

... then when the same reference shows up again, just an in-text citation:

(Venuti, 1995, p. 10-11)

I wonder if there is any style that already exists that does that?
... in which case I can either use it and make a few corrections when it is done, or create my own .csl with it, with only a few minor corrections.

Concerning the BIBLIOGRAPHY, they have a few unusual requests too, such as the author's name in full caps, but since my bibliography is not extremely long, I can probably just modify that by hand (or possibly modify the .csl, but I'm only a beginner in .csl, so this is likely to be much longer and not necessarily reusable anytime soon).

Can anyone help me with that?
  • This can't be done in CSL (it's also frankly a bizarre idea for citations, but oh well).
    What you can do is write the entire style as in-text and then simply insert footnotes for the first citation manually, but obviously this won't automatically adjust things if you later add a citation to the same item before the first one.
  • to be specific, take Chicago (full note) and change it to an “intext” style in the first line of the style. Then, manually insert the first citation for an item into a footnote, rather than in text.
  • Thank you both for your answers.

@bwiernik I don't understand what you mean by "first line".

It reads:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

Which part is it I must change to "intext"?

... or did you mean the first line AFTER the title?

http://www.zotero.org/styles/chicago-fullnote-bibliography

Is it "fullnote" that needs to be replaced by "intext"?
  • edited April 26, 2022