Site Translators for US Federal Law (USC), Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), and New Item Types

edited April 1, 2022

Hello,

I have a need for three new types of items, which I believe are not really handled well by any of the current Zotero item types.

1. STANDARDS
  2. REGULATIONS
  3. GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS

1/3 - STANDARDS

Searching through the forums, I found this post from March 2016 that also requested STANDARDS . I just mention it to highlight how important this type of item, as well as the other two, are to those of us who work in regulated industries. Although I have been using Zotero for over almost 8 years now, I never really saw the need for this item type until I started working closely with regulatory affairs and legal personnel. I have been using either the report, statute, or book/book section types, but none of them are satisfactory.

Also, having a translator for the ANSI standard search site, NSSN.org , would cover a block of 9 very major standards. All of the categories of items in the list below are searchable from the NSSN.org site. Note that items one - nine are proper standards.

However, item 10 is a regulation, which is different from a law/statute. I run into this issue all of the time. Has anyone else asked for a regulation type?

1. American National Standards
  2. US Standards
  3. ISO/IEC/ITU Approved Standards
  4. Non-US National and Regional Standards
  5. US DoD Approved Standards
  6. ANS Under Development
  7. ISO/IEC Development Projects
  8. US DoD Development Projects
  9. CFR (Code of Federal Regulations) References

In case it helps, here are some links to some other standards sites that for which having a translator would be extremely useful. I would love to write a translator myself, but after reviewing the documentation for it, I'm not sure that my programming skills are up to snuff.

2/3 - REGULATIONS