Questions coming from Citavi

This discussion was created from comments split from: Zotfile no option to extract annotations.
  • edited February 3, 2022
    Hi,

I'm planning to move from Citavi to Zotero. The new highlighting and annotation feature seems to bring Zotero closer to the Citavi workflow, and it's fantastic news. I have a range of questions though (from the more specific to the more general):

1. Will/could there be an easy way to jump from Citavi to Zotero (maybe an importer) that also preserves the links between annotations and highlights in the PDF? I am aware of https://www.zotero.org/support/kb/import-from-citavi but that was before the new annotation system was introduced.

2. I understand how annotations exported in markdown retain a link to the file and the PDF annotation, but then how does the formatting work? I'm thinking in comparison to how the Zotero plugin works in MS Word (I am also new to markdown editors and how they play with Zotero).

3. Will there be options to customize the behaviour of the annotation system? I would like for example to have my higlight comments before the highlight, not after; specify how the citekey is formatted, export annotations with a simple click to a specified folder, etc. If yes, what is the best way to suggest features?

4. Are you considering an "atomic notes/Zettelkasten" system either by generating individual notes or some "blocks" in the annotation file, so the highlights/annotations can be manipulated individually (tagged, etc.)?

5. Along the same lines, is there any plan to introduce a way to categorize individual annotations in collections? Alternatively, are you planning to introduce more complex text editor possibilities in the annotation pane, such as an outliner function? Currently there is only one "level" in your annotation pane, thus there is no way to introduce hierarchy in the ideas and the annotations