Transferring data from one laptop to another

I am a doctoral student at Biola University. I have just bought a new laptop and need to sync the data from my old laptop to the new laptop.

To try and do this, I went into my Zotero account from my old laptop and tried to set up the sync function. It later seemed that the folders from my old laptop seemed to be copied over into my new laptop. However, on further checking, there were many titles of books and articles on my old laptop's collection, that were not in my new laptop's folder.

Can you please advise if I have done the syncing process wrongly? I can always uninstall the Zotero from my new laptop and start all over again, if necessary.
  • @rdtan9494: Both syncing and copying the data directory should be fine — see Transferring a Library.

If you're seeing different results after syncing, can you take a couple screenshots that show the difference and either upload them somewhere (e.g., Dropbox or Google Drive) and provide a link here or email them to support@zotero.org with a link to this thread?
  • @rdtan9494: The email address is just for sending private files. All support happens here.

• Hi,

I have tried the suggested methods to transfer my Zotero libraries and database to my new laptop, but to no avail.

I have tried to use the sync function. However, when I install Zotero on my new laptop and then look at the database on the "new" Zotero, some files are missing. For example, one of my collections in the "old" Zotero had 88 items. When I looked at the Zotero in my new laptop, there were only 17 items.