Questions after Mendeley import

This discussion was created from comments split from: Available for beta testing: Online Mendeley importer.
  • Hello, I am brand new to Zotero and just imported my library to Zotero using the latest beta version. I am using MEGASync and ZotFile to store the data.

The folder structure seems to work perfectly which exactly what I need!
    I have however some issues:

1. Although all citations were exported, not all pdfs did. Only about half did.
    2. Some pdfs were saved on the Zotero folder (user/Zotero/storage/) even though ZotFile has been set to a custom location and syncing to the Zotero storage has been switched off.
    3.The annotations and notes that I took on mendeley do not translate onto the built-in zotero reader. The only file i've found where the annotations work and those happened to be the ones where the file is stored in the Zotero storage rather than the MEGASync folder.
    4. A bit of a nitpick but while in beta you do not have the option to add columns other than title and creator. It would be nice to see Year.

Could someone help me understand the best way forward?

Many thanks!
  • edited October 13, 2021
    (Please start new threads for new issues. I've moved this to a new thread.)

1) For PDFs that weren't imported, check to see if they're available in your online Mendeley library. You can also try repeating the import (without deleting anything) to see if additional files are downloaded. There's an issue with downloading large files from Mendeley servers that we're still investigating.

3) Annotations from Mendeley will show up in the built-in PDF reader after import for stored files. ZotFile doesn't know anything about those annotations, though, and will wipe them out if you use it to convert attachments to linked files.

4) Right-click on the header to customize columns.
  • @hadifalex: We just pushed a new beta version that might fix problems downloading large files from Mendeley libraries.