Organising locally stored PDFs

Hi everyone, it's my first time posting so apologies if something is wrong. I tried to find other discussions on this issue but came up empty.

I've recently moved from Mendeley Desktop to Zotero, and am trying to organise my pdfs, both the directly downloaded into Zotero and the linked files. From what I could gather, to have options similar to Mendeley, I needed ZotFile, which I installed.

I've come across two problems:
1. Once I try to select a folder in the ZotFile options nothing happens. Literally. Not even a Windows explorer window popping up for me to choose a folder.

2. Forgoing add ons, locally stored files are still a mess. Is there a way to store the files Zotero grabs locally in one folder, rather than a folder per file as it seems to be doing automatically?

I'm using Zotero 5.0.97-beta.44+fa4020f78 and ZotFile 5.0.16 on a Windows 10 computer.

Thanks in advance!
  • ZotFile's code to open a file dialog likely needs to be updated for the current Zotero beta, similar to this change.
    Forgoing add ons, locally stored files are still a mess.
    I mean, they're not a mess — they're stored quite stably in a folder that Zotero manages for you, which you're not meant to browse through manually. This system avoids all sorts of problems with files getting accidentally unlinked (which are a constant complaint about Mendeley on Twitter).

We recommend using stored files, letting Zotero manage the files for you, and accessing them primarily through Zotero, which has much more flexible search and organization features than the filesystem. You can drag files right from Zotero to copy them somewhere or even, depending on your mail client, into an email. (If that doesn't work for you, you can just right-click → Show File and do the same.)