Can I use a local bibtex file as feed?

Hello, I am new to Zotero and I am particularly interested in its tagging features and searches in tags.

I am bibtex based, and I do not want to drop bibtex, even if Zotero can export to bibtex I do not want to have anything else that bibtex, just because I can give bibtex to any colleauge and they know what to do. Any other format, even free or OSS, would not work for collaboration as well as bibtex does.

That said, I would like to exploit the tags and search tag in Zotero. For this reason I wanted to let the bibtex data into Zotero as if they were a feed. Then I would use Zotero to track these papers from the bibtex and will add tags to them to be saved in Zotero.

The next time I add anything in the bibtex file Zotero will find the same stuff and will help me find stuff through the keywords, tag and related search features. The newly added bibtex entries, of course, will be new stuff that Zotero needs to digest.

Do you think this workflow can be attained using Zotero?
  • I don't think so, no.
    Look at JabRef.

(Though I'll say that I think you underestimate Zotero bibtex export. Functionally you can store the data in Zotero and then have a .bib file update automatically as you add items, so I'm not sure why storing the db in bibtex matters)
  • @roberto.franceschini: To be clear, you'd want to make sure you have the Better BibTeX plugin if using a BibTeX-based workflow with Zotero.
  • Yes, maybe I underestimate the import/export Zotero features.
    bibtex+BibDesk has been serving well for over 10y, you see why I do not want to drop it. At the same time the taggin feature of BibDesk are really becoming an issue because it is all too static and rigid.

For a reasonable on-par exchange I'd need:
    - capability to push citations into LyX (not MS Word!)