Using Zotero for an organisation

Hi Adam,
First apologies as I know this topic has come up in the forum but I'm having trouble finding it but I'm starting a new thread in case there is an update on best procedure. I am a librarian and wish to set up Zotero for use across my research organisation (200 staff) and we have not used ref management software to date – we work remotely and all have laptops. I would be really grateful of some step by step guidance on the best way to do this. I know that the concept will be based on setting up a main group library to invite staff to. I've read some threads on synching and opening multiple profiles but am pretty confused on the order of set up (I have my own Zotero account on my laptop but I will need to create a brand new installation / organisation account that my colleague can also have access to).
Any help would be gratefully received,
Kind regards,
Wendy
  • (No need to address me directly -- I don't even work for Zotero and there are half a dozen people here who do, plus other volunteers with relevant experience).

You seem to have the general set up right -- beyond that, it'd really be more about the exact set-up and constraints at your instutitution as well as any particular challenges you foresee -- much easier to answer specific questions than to write step-by-step guidance with lots of contingencies in it.
  • Apologies Adam, I see your name so often, I did indeed make an assumption that you were staff, thanks for the heads up.
    I'll try to break down my query to a first question and then go from there as we progress. As an organisation we work remotely and all work on laptops. We currently have the go-ahead to experiment with Zotero on a small scale with a couple of staff to establish what will work and what may not.