Can I save my PDFs to a single folder?

I am just learning to use Zotero. I have figured out how to add ZotFile and rename PDFs from parent metadata. I notice that these PDFs, when imported and renamed from my "Downloads" folder, are sorted into folders with random 8-digit names within "C:\Users\Sarah\Zotero\storage". For example, "SerratX et al_2019_PLoS Genet.pdf" is in "C:\Users\Sarah\Zotero\storage\6YD4PSYF\". Is it possible to have my PDFs in a single folder (like C:\Users\Sarah\Zotero\storage\") so I can search more quickly through my list of PDFs by sorting all files alphabetically? This is something I used to do in Mendeley and it was very convenient. Alternatively, can I make it so the final folder name (e.g., "6YD4PSYF") is informative (e.g., renamed from parent metadata)?
  • Additionally, I am playing around with adding notes that I want to save with the PDFs. So I would make Word Document Titled "Serrat_2019_Notes.docx". I used "Attach stored copy of a file" to like that document to the paper, and this created a NEW folder in storage: "C:\Users\Sarah\Zotero\storage\JWLP7VLC\". Over time this is going to make the "storage" folder a mess of folders whose names are gibberish. Is there a more efficient way to sort and store PDFs, supplemental files, and word docs in storage? It's very neatly organized in the app, but what if I want to easily find and access these files just from the folder?
  • to *link that document to the paper
  • edited March 19, 2021
    The basic idea of Zotero is that you don't touch your PDF files in their folders-- that's what Zotero is for, with much better search & filter options than your file system.

If you do really want them in a human-readable folder structure, you have two main options:
    1. You can just set up a saved search in Windows within the storage folder for PDFs -- that will give you all PDFs in a single folder: (see e.g. https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/88817-save-search-windows-10-a.html for saved searches)