Citing Music Score in Zotero

So I'm a music postgraduate student and was just wondering what people's best systems were for citing musical scores in Zotero. I've seen a number of different forum entries from a few years back but was just wondering what the state of play is like now?
  • edited May 13, 2020
    There is a `musical_score` item type available in the Citation Style Language that Zotero uses to format citations, but this doesn't have a corresponding item type in Zotero yet.

You can tell Zotero to cite an item as a musical score by entering this in Extra:
    Type: musical_score

You can similarly add a composer on another line in Extra:
    Composer: Last || First I.

If the citation style you are using is written to accommodate musical scores and composers, this will be picked up and cited accordingly.
  • I am citing a BOOK of scores in an article. It is the collection of all the scores of an album by Francis Cabrel, Les beaux dégâts, so the book is also called Les beaux dégâts, and it contains a dozen scores of individual songs.

I am citing the book in a style derived from the template Chicago (author-date), but in my bibliography, the title appears as "Les beaux dégâts".

Shouldn't it yield Les beaux dégâts in italics instead, since it has no container?

From what I find here, it seems to me that this should be the case:

https://libguides.depauw.edu/c.php?g=73436&p=472284
  • Yes, the style should probably be updated. It currently doesn’t handle musical scores specifically, so all formatting is just generic.
  • I don't understand. Even if it's generic, why does it create quotation marks when there is no container?