Word keeps freezing after each Zotero cite is entered

I am using a Mac OS Catalina 10.15.6 and Microsoft Word for Mac version 16.16.26. I have been using Zotero without issues for several months but yesterday, Word suddenly started to freeze every time I add a Zotero cite. I saw a post on this from July and thought I may have inadvertently also been using Zotero from my desktop. However, I always open it from my applications folder. I tried to follow the steps on checking for where it is, but I do not seem to have the menus that were described. Can someone help?
  • Does this happen in a new document, or only in an existing document?

Is it freezing permanently, or does it come back?
  • It is happening in an existing document and it is freezing permanently so I have to close the document and try and open again. But each time I open it again, I find that it freezes as soon as I try and cite from Zotero.

I just tried a completely new document and it does not seem to be happening. What do you suggest?
  • edited September 24, 2020
    Restart your computer. Make sure you start Zotero before you try to cite with Word. If it still freezes submit a Report ID.
  • Thank you. I did try and restart the computer and start Zotero before Word but it is still happening. It just started happening on the second document I opened as well. I will submit a Report ID.
  • My report ID is 660823492
  • Can you provide a Debug ID (different from a Report ID) from Zotero for an attempt that results in a freeze?
  • A Debug ID for a freezing operation is not necessary, but follow the link above for instructions on how to submit a startup Debug ID.

It might help to go into your Zotero profile folder and move extensions.json to Desktop, then restart Zotero.
  • Here is the Debug ID: D1945193973.

I tried to follow the instructions for going into my Zotero Profile Folder but those steps do not seem to work for my machine. Are there differences with iOS Catalina?