Anyone have experience using Zotero as a slip box, zettelkasten, or smart notes?

edited March 4, 2020
I am looking for a good note taking system and came across the concept of Zettelkasten or slip box or sometimes referred to as smart notes. The basic premise is that when you have notes you put them on an index card and label them in such a way that they're not really categorized, but more hierarchical and linear in terms of your thought pattern. One important aspect is that you can link them like a wiki would. I'm still learning about it so my apologies if I kind of butchered that explanation.

My initial thought is to have separate collections, one for the "slip box" which would function like a digital note card box and another collection for the citations of books, articles, etc. I read with their note attached directly to them. I would then eventually move or rewrite those notes in away that fits the slip box method and put them in that collection. I like Zotero because I can tag and use the "Related" function to link back to other notes and sources, like the entire system wants you to do.

When I've looked online for practical examples of this method in Zotero, I only find examples of people using it for their literature citations and notes, not as the actual slip box to collect notes without necessarily having a citation to go with it. I'm wondering why? Does anyone have some experience or long term use regarding something like this? Thanks!

Edit: I should also say that I would probably keep my short term notes that are more temporary in something like Google Keep. If they prove worthwhile long term, I'll add them to my slip box. I also spend most of my time working in Google Chrome and Google Apps like Drive and Docs. That's why I like Zotero.
  • This website mentions Zotero: https://takesmartnotes.com/
    So I guess there is a way.