Problems with APA citations

This discussion was created from comments split from: Changes to APA Style in 7th Edition.
  • edited June 18, 2020
    Good evening,

I am a first year doctorate student am just learning to use Zotero. I have been accumulating references and uploading them onto Zotero to have when I begin actual work on my dissertation.
    I'm in a graduate level class, and for one of the assignments we were to submit a reference page. I copied some references over to the clipboard, and pasted it onto a word document. (The process is very user friendly and easy to do by the way...)
    However, when I received feedback, I found that the references were done incorrect, according to my professor. His feedback stated "These are not in APA format. There are quite a few problems with most of these references."

I asked him for specifics, so I could compare what I submitted to what is accurate and he did.

This is what I had submitted.

Botts, K. C. (2015). A selected historical analysis of the “Complete High School” Maize Kansas. Kansas State University.

The portion of A selected historical analysis of the "Complete High School" Maize Kansas was italicized and it did not include (Doctoral dissertation) in the reference.

My professor indicated that this was the correct method.

Botts, K. C. (2015). A selected historical analysis of the “Complete High School” Maize Kansas. (Doctoral dissertation). Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS.

None of the above was italicized.

My question is, is the difference between the two citations a difference in editions? (IE 6th edition vs 7th edition)? Or did I do something else wrong? I'm trying to figure out what the difference is so I know how to proceed and if I need to go through and change a reference page after using Zotero to produce it. (Obviously I know to double check things, but to be prepared to make significant changes to each reference). I really appreciate any feedback and thank you.

John