Print out Edited/Selected Fields in Zotero

I've been reading an excellent guide to writing a dissertation. In it the author offers a guide to formatting bibliographic notes so that a limited selection of fields can be printed out to further order with an outline in mind.

The instructions given are for EndNote. I'm hoping to do the same for Zotero. I'm a complete newbie, however, and would appreciate a few pointers as to whether possible and how. And if not possible any suggestions on how to achieve a similar outcome would be most helpful.

Here are the instructions for EndNote:

The author went for an available field she would never use for own writing - in this case called Research Strategies.
* In Edit Styles Manager menu she then reformatted all the templates in the bibliography.
* Only Author, Date and Research Notes fields to be printed out.
* Author and Date unique identifier and printed on one line
* Research Notes field prints out below. In Research Notes field are the citeable notes so they are printed as one per line.
* Check Modifying Style templates in the Help Index if you need help creating this style for citeable notes.
* Then when ready print out using ‘research strategies style’.

Thanks

• Something like that should be possible with a custom .CSL style. Happy to help.

What do you want to print out? Just author, date and whatever you got in the extra field?
  • Thanks very much for response.

Yes, looking to print out author and date on the one line as identifier.

Then, in field below, as many entries as I require, each on their own line. That last is important. These entries need to be distinct from one another to enable further sorting.
  • edited May 29, 2020
    Please be more specific. Exactly what fields do you want?
  • Author, date in one line.
    Another field comprising as many distinct entries as I wish, each entry able to be both entered and printed out on their own separate entry line.