Two people working on the same Zotero account?

I am an RA for a professor - if she shares her Zotero password with me, can I access her account from a different computer and make changes?

Would this compromise my own separate/personal Zotero account?
  • Is there a reason you wouldn't share the library instead?
  • Do you mean create a new Group library (by dropping items into it and then sharing)? Or is there a way to share a library directly?
  • Will a new group library not work?
    https://www.zotero.org/support/groups

Sharing a password seems like a bad idea for several reasons, including that it would be more work to switch between accounts, and then by default everything would be shared not just your overlapping research.
  • edited April 27, 2020
    @tanyamatthan: The normal process would be to use a shared Zotero group that she invited you to, but if the goal is really just to make changes within her personal library and you're the only other person working on it, sharing her account would be an option.

If you did that, you'd want to set up a separate profile for her library/account, and have Zotero open in one or the other profile while you were using it. (With a single profile, Zotero would have to delete the whole data directory and redownload the other account's data each time you switched between the two.)
  • and then by default everything would be shared not just your overlapping research
    (I'm not sure what @djross3 meant by this, but when you switch accounts, data doesn't get merged.)
  • (Sorry if that was confusing. I just meant that there would be nothing separate in the advisor's account. For example, it would only be this project with this RA, and not any other project with another RA, or similar situations. It's like the difference between forwarding one email message to someone else to read and giving them your password to read all of your emails. But if that's the goal, yes, it would work.)
  • edited April 28, 2020