Okular does not open PDF's when stored/filed through Zotero

I am very new to Linux / Ubuntu and have been playing around with it for the past week. I have come across a problem I can't seem to fix. If I want to open a PDF with Okular, which has been stored / filed through Zotero, I get the following message: Could not open file:///home/ingrid/snap/zotero-snap/common/Zotero/storage/GI4FVK9I/Vranken - 2020 - Rooted Hauntology Lab Attempts at vegetal curatio.pdf The only program that can open the files seems to be pdf viewer, but this does not have the functionality I need. Thank you for helping me out!!
  • @extraymond, the maintainer of the third-party Snap package you're using, may be able to answer that. This problem would be specific to the Snap.
  • @dstillermann Thanks for forwarding.

@ingridvranken I'll take a look at other pdf viewers, I'm mostly using pdf viewer(evince if I'm not mistaken) . Can you try open the file from the file manager and see if okular is capable of opening the file from there? Thanks for your report.
  • @ingridvranken

Hi! The issue you are having is snap specific, so the following will only be relevant if you wish to use the snap version. I'm happy to help while you are trying the snap version and see if that fits your usage.

---

Is okular installed as a snap or it's the deb/rpm version? This should happen only with the snap version of okular. Reasons below. Bit long but promise it will worth the time. And I'll show you how can we work with this.

If you are using the snap version of okular, first let's make the problem more precisely: not being able to view the file inside ~/snap/zotero-snap/common from okular(snap).