how to change the style in the middle of writing a paper?

Dear Forum,
I am new to use Zotero and felt it's so user friendly to use.
But, I found a problem in the middle of my writing.
I chose the Springer - Basic (note) style earlier, then my reference was shown as below

source 1 i
source 2 ii
source 1 iii
source 2 iv

I want to change to the Springer - Basic (numeric, brackets), so that I can get
source 1 [1]
source 2 [2]
source 1 [1]
source 2 [2]

I tried document preference to change it in word, it did not work.
Could anyone direct my how to change it to the format I want, the previous one was not right since it gave new number for previous used source? Do I need to delete all the citation in my previous version, then add them back in new different style?

thanks and best,
Jingjing Zhang,
Thomas Jefferson University Hospital
  • That should just work with document preferences. What happened when you tried?
  • Earlier, it did not change in the context, but something changed at the end.
    Now, it always say 'Zotero experienced and error updating your document. Would you like to view troubleshooting instructions?"

thanks and best,
    Jingjing Zhang
  • Can you provide a Report ID after this happens? After that, you should follow the troubleshooting instructions.
  • No report ID, just say
    Zotero experienced and error updating your document.
    Would you like to view troubleshooting instructions?

If I click yes, it will go to Zotero website-- documentation--troubleshooting errors in word processor documentation, I don't see anything could help me there.
  • You can always provide a Report ID — follow my link.

And if it's working in a new document, following the debugging steps to the end will by definition isolate the problem. We can look at the Report ID first, though.
  • sorry, I came back for the same questions.
    Report ID is :145042250