Adding new citations to Google Doc deletes all old citations

I have inherited a Google Doc with Zotero citations that needs to be updated. The original author had used Zotero to add in a bibliography of references cited, and she shared access to the Zotero database with me. If I select an individual citation, the Zotero interface appears and I can replace the citation with a new one. But if I try to add a new citation, the entire list of references cited (79 sources) is deleted and replaced with the new item. I'm by no means an expert in Zotero so it's possible I'm missing something really obvious.

A few things that might be relevant. The original author was essentially trying to create endnotes in the absence of official endnote support in Google Docs. So the end of the document is a numbered list of all of the citations, and then in the main text she just entered plain text references to the matching number in the list of citations (e.g., "Scholars disagree on the meaning.[25]"). As a result, my hope in the short term is to just add new citations to the end of the list of existing citations, so that I don't upset the existing number scheme. The existing numbering scheme seems to have no discernible order, so a longer term goal would be to add citations and then reorder the entire list into alphabetical order or in order of the citations in the main text. But for the moment I'd be happy to just be able to add new citations to the end of the list.

A colleague has suggested that maybe the issue relates to the fact that the original citations were added by a different account, as opposed to my own account, and that's why adding one citation just replaces them all. But he wasn't sure and suggested I ask here.
  • If I select an individual citation, the Zotero interface appears and I can replace the citation with a new one.
    But the citation you've selected appears in the citation dialog? The dialog isn't just empty?