Storage and Purge Storage clarification questions

I'm a librarian who frequently gives advice on using Zotero and other citation managers. When I suggest that people use Zotero, I often encounter resistance from people who are wrong. For example, people say things like "I need to use EndNote because it will create a bibliography in Word."

I'm starting to hear from people who believe they need more storage space. Perhaps they do. I'm willing to be convinced. But so far, I think people are confusing desktop storage with cloud storage.

I've seen previous discussions of Purge Storage and think I understand it, but I've seen conflicting statements and want to make sure that I understand so that I can give good advice.

First, I want to make sure I understand storage.

Let's say I have synced the desktop and web libraries. Am I correct in thinking that I have 2 copies of every pdf? If I click on the pdf in Zotero desktop, then I'm opening a pdf that is stored on my local computer. And if I click on the same pdf in the web library, then I'm opening a different copy stored in the cloud? That's correct?

Assuming I'm right, I want to make sure I understand Purge.

So let's say I reach the storage limit because I am an indiscriminate downloader. Or maybe I needed all the pdfs for the last project I worked on, but I no longer need them for my current project. In other words, let's say I have a ton of pdfs that I don't really need. That storage limit is cloud storage, right?

So, if I hit Purge Storage, then I'm deleting all of the cloud versions of the pdfs. But I retain all of the references? And I retain the desktop copies of the pdfs? Is that correct?