Can tag suggestions/prompts search whole field?

OK, I'm not technical so I'm not sure if I'm using the correct wording. Also, there could be a whole discussion about this, but I couldn't find it because I don't know the right terms to use for the search. So, please excuse me if this already exists as a discussion.

I love that I get a suggestion when I'm adding a tag so that I can use the same tag and not create one slightly different when I'm meaning to use the same one. What I don't understand is why the tag suggestions only search by the first word of the tag.

For example, say I'm adding the tag "Alfred B. Giles" in an article for the first time, and this tag already exists in my tag database from another article. In order for me to know the tag exists and use it, I have to start my tag with "Alfred". Why can't I type "Giles" and get suggestions for all of the tags that have "Giles" in them? This would make keeping the tag database clean and free of duplicates with slight variations much easier. Otherwise, I have to keep going to my tag database to see if I've entered that name before. It slows me down.

This does not seem to happen in the search function for overall tags in a document. If I type "Giles" there, it brings up all documents with the word "Giles", no matter what place it resides in the tag itself.

Am I missing a setting or something because I don't see why this wouldn't be an option?

Thanks!
  • This is done for performance reasons, but this is a fairly common request, and we can probably at least search individual words (if not the whole string). Issue created.
  • @dstillman, I see a ticket was created here with the comment that it will be limited to "individual words". I separate words in my tags with "." or "_" characters for various reasons. So if my tag is "Alfred.B.Giles_1963" will a search for "1963" find that tag or no? I have 100s of tags that would need to be changed so I am hoping it will.