I think I misunderstood Zotfile! Library is split in two different places.

Hi, I tried searching for this issue but couldn't find a previous discussion with all info I needed.

So, I have been using Zotero happily for two years! I recently hit my storage limit, and I also bought an iPad. I wanted to take advantage of Zotfile's nifty way of syncing with tablets.

Without fully understanding what I now think I do - which is that Zotero saves the PDF locally and then you click Send it to Tablet to get it to your sync folder (I am using Google Drive) - I have managed to put a number of my files in only the Google Drive folder. When I click on Show File, it takes me to my local folder on my desktop that does Backup and Sync with Google Drive, instead of deep in the chaotic names of Zotero Library folders.

I am about to embark on a PhD program, and so I want to ensure everything is organized before I get myself into any more trouble! How do I (1) figure out which files on my Google Drive do NOT have a local Zotero library location on my hard drive (2) relocate them to my hard drive while remaining connected to their citations? Is this the right thing to do to ensure a locally supported Zotero library AND get it to my iPad through my Google Drive?

Alternatively, I could just pay the $60, support your amazing program, and sync through Zotero to my iPad. But even then I would NEED to migrate only those files that are not in my local Zotero library, right?

Thanks for what I am assuming will be a quick and totally obvious answer and sorry for being such a special person. Also, I should note, I was trying to clean up my mac, so like two days ago I deleted all of my downloads and all of my trash. Go me!