Zotero tab disappeared from Word

This discussion was created from comments split from: Zotero tab is not showing up in Word.
  • Hi there,

I thought I'd follow this thread because my problem is similar... I hope my message doesn't get lost.

I have been using Zotero for the past 3 years and have never had an issue, until a couple of months ago when the Zotero tab disappeared from the ribbon in Word. I am a bit desperate by now... [I may well have updated Zotero recently...]

I have tried every single step on the 'All Plugins/Platforms' site... Strangely enough I thought I had fixed it last night because I managed to recover the tab on one document (only...!), when I tried to add a citation I didn't get a Z bar like in the past but a window with my Zotero library in it, asking me to select the source manually...

Can any one please help? I am at my wits end ready to move to Mendeley or thelike.

thanks,
    Ele
  • @elena%20mancebo What operating system are you using (Windows or Mac), and what versions of Word and Zotero? Can you tell me exactly what you have done as you've followed the steps listed here? https://www.zotero.org/support/word_processor_plugin_troubleshooting#zotero_toolbar_doesn_t_appear

@dstillman Can we split this to a new thread?
  • Thanks for getting back.

I'm using Word for Office 365 in Windows.
    When looking for the Zotero version, I have been prompted to download the 5.0.69 version, which I did - tab in ribbon still not there after restart
    Steps I have taken:
    - I have checked that Zotero extension is enabled under Tools → Add-ons → Extensions.
    - I have not reinstalled though
    - I have checked under Word Options that Developer tab and Add-ins are ticked
    - I have checked under Trust Centre
    Zotero is listed under Add-ins, so I'm at a loss....