Scannable Cite problems - using Zotero with Scrivener

I am trying to use Zotero and Scrivener together so that I can paste citations from Zotero into my Scrivener project and when I've exported it, create the bibliography.

I've found plenty of relevant information on this forum, but am still stuck. I have downloaded the RTF/ODF scan for Zotero, but like many other users, Scannable Cite doesn't show up in my Export list under Preferences Default Copy Format.

Other messages have sent me to this GitHub page: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Juris-M/zotero-odf-scan-plugin/master/resource/translators/Scannable Cite.js

But I'm not a programmer at all and have no idea what to do with that page. I seem to be able to download it only as a webarchive page, or copy it into a text editor in which case it needs to be called .rtf or .txt. How do I download it as a .js file in the Zotero Translators folder (which I have located)?

I am using a MacBook OS 10.13.6, Zotero standalone 5.0.54 and Scrivener 2.8.1.2.

Any advice much appreciated! Thanks.

Philip
  • yeah, there's no coding required whatsoever. What happens if you right-click on the link above and click "save link as", then save the file? If that doesn't work, have you tried with a different browser?
  • Thank you Adam. I was using Safari and that only gave me a Save Page As... option, not a Save File As... I then used Chrome and it saved fine, and I've now been able to select it from the Export Preferences list.
  • I'm still unable to find the 'Scannable Cite' option. Here is what I've tried:
    1. I was using the Zotero beta version, so I uninstalled it before reinstalling Zotero 5.0.55 for Windows. That seemed to work.
    2. I installed the RTF/ODF Plugin from Github: https://zotero-odf-scan.github.io/zotero-odf-scan/ The RTF/ODF Scan for Zotero now appears under Extensions in the Add-on Manager window (so, I think I've done that correctly).