Zotero Not Working on Linux

Hi , Apologies if there's already a discussion on this and I missed it. I just downloaded Zotero on my Chromebook with Linux. The application opens correctly. When I hover over or click on things like File, Edit, Tools, Help, etc. drop down menus will appear.

But clicking on any of the options in the drop down menus or shortcut icons does nothing. I can't even open settings or About Zotero to see what version it is, etc. I've restarted and that didn't change anything.

Any ideas?
  • Is this a Chromebook running a full linux distro or Chrome OS with linux apps running? If the former, which distro? How did you install Zotero?
  • Honestly, I'm an amateur at this. But I'm pretty sure this is Chrome OS w/linux apps running. (The only reason I've gone down this path is b/c I need a citation manager for grad school and android apps I've found are not as robust as Zotero desktop.)

Here are the steps I've followed:

1. I went into my Chrome OS settings and turned Linux Beta on. This downloaded a terminal. 2. I then downloaded the Zotero Linux file from: https://www.zotero.org/download/
    3. I used an app for Android to extract the Zotero file that was downloaded and copied it into my Linux file folder
    4. I asked for help on a Chromebook forum how to actually install the extracted file and someone told me what to type into the terminal: 'sudo apt-get install zotero-standalone'
    5. The app installed and appeared in my launcher. But that's as far as I've gotten.
  • Yes, 4. is the problem. That's not the way to install the downloaded app, that's just installing a (significantly outdated) version from a repository.

Instead, try this:
    First, run
    sudo apt-get purge zotero-standalone
    to completely remove the old Zotero.

Then install as described here: https://github.com/retorquere/zotero-deb (I'd use the curl version -- I know for sure curl would be included in ChromeOS's linux shell)