[feature request] A workflow to help get paper read!

In the past ~8 years, I have switched several reference/citation management softwares and finally decided to settle down with Zotero.

The reason that Zotero is not my first choice is rather superficial. It looks crude (or rough? forgive my limited vocabulary... need help...). Nothing fancy at all at its UI, design, setups, everything. It is just a plugin of firefox, not even a standalone software. In short, as a newbie I was eager for something that I could show to people around! However, as times goes I start to seek for more essential features, more like an adult,
- At first I just need to organize files automatically.
- Then I want better annotation tools and management.
- Then I want reliable fulltext search.
- Then I want synchronize between multiple devices, multiple Platform.
- Then data safety.
- Then simple group collaboration, just reliable sharing, no co-writing/editing.

Today, Zotero satisfies almost my every demands, without robbing me for one penny. By robbing I mean there is no restriction on a free account. (Buying storage is really not a big deal. One needs to pay for a hard disk to maintain local backups. The only reason I use Zotfile is because its unique convenience that allows a tablet-workflow.)

As I'm not gonna code for Zotero, I want to contribute in a different way, by drawing a big picture for a new feature:

** Get Paper Read !!! **

Nowadays, there are plenty of Zotero-like softwares competing the market, with polished fancy UI designs (it's true), easier (if true) citation import and fulltext download, better (if true) syncs, blabla. The down-side consequence is that one is easy to get a huge collection of papers but too is also too frightened to start reading the collection. However, owning papers does not mean knowing the knowledge.