FreeBSD/LibreOffice/Firefox/Zotero java error

Hello. I know I'm weird for using BSD on my desktop, but I'm an old sysadmin and BSD bigot, so that colors my system. I still use twm for my window manager, because I don't have any use for the heavy stuff that slows the system down.

I am getting a java exception error when trying to use Zotero after a large system update. Therefore, it is very possible that the problem is purely on my end (i.e., I get to keep both halves).

However, just in case you have any pointers... Here are the relevant versions:

FreeBSD: 11.0-RELEASE-p2
Firefox: 51.0.1 (64 bit)
LibreOffice: 5.2.4.2.0+
Java: OpenJDK8-8.121.13
Zotero: 4.0.29.16
LO integration: 3.5.12 (according to firefox) 3.5.9 (according to libreoffice)

I start libreoffice, create a new text file, click on the zotero configuration button, and get the following in a popup:

An error occurred communicating with Zotero:
java.net.SocketException: Connection reset by peer
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.socketSetOption(Native Method)
at java.net.AbstractPlainSocketImpl.setOption(AbstractPlainSocketImpl.java:269)
at java.net.Socket.setTcpNoDelay(Socket.java:952)
at org.zotero.integration.ooo.comp.CommServer.run(CommServer.java:23)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:745)

Any clues?

(Standalone zotero is not an option at the moment, as you're only distributing binary. I'd be happy to try to get it working on FreeBSD myself if you released the source.)
  • All Zotero code is free&open https://github.com/zotero/ including both actual code and the Standalone build scripts, but I wouldn't expect Standalone to behave differently here. (Also, the Linux file that's distributed for Standalone isn't a binary. It's a tarball that you can unpack and tinker with in its entirety).

There used to be a problem with Word integration using 64-bit Firefox -- that's fixed, but its possible something similar is going on and in that case Standalone might help.