Reading and annotating articles on the IPad

Hello,

I'm a PhD student and new to Zotero. I started using IPad with Apple pencil (pdf expert app), and it has been a very good annotation experience. I also use Zotero extension on my browser on Macbook to collect articles, set names from metadata, manage attachments etc. I think it will help me manage bibliography and citations later on :).

Eventhough I read some forum discussions and tutorials, I'm still not sure if and how it is possible to :

- collect articles from browser on IPad
- have all attachments I have collected previously (pdfs of the articles and papers) available to read on the IPad (sync with Mac, using google drive or another cloud provider)
- pick an article, annotate it on IPad, and overwrite the original file with annotated file (I know zotero supports only papership for IPad, which does not support apple pencil annotations, correct me if I am wrong).

Many colleagues are also interested in the same feature, as annotation with the pencil can be much more engaging during the reading and gives an experience that's close to pen and paper writing without the egological impact, and with the advantage of having everything synchronized and easy to find.

Anyone knows how to do this ?
  • Hi

you can use https://www.zotero.org/download/bookmarklet
    to collect articles from browser on IPad

and try http://zotfile.com
    for the other points.

it's not as frictionless as it should be but I think it can be made to work

J
  • So three questions. The current answer is that you can't have all three at once.

1. collect articles from browser on IPad

See https://www.zotero.org/download/bookmarklet

2. have all attachments I have collected previously (pdfs of the articles and papers) available to read on the IPad (sync with Mac, using google drive or another cloud provider)