Zotero download display buggy on new install

Hi there,

I've been using Zotero on two computers for a few years now with great success and pleasure. But one recently died, and so I replaced it.

After installing the Zotero download on my new replacement computer, however, I'm having issues with its behavior. In particular:

** When I am making notes, and using the "Related" function within notes, after I have added a few new notes and/or related items, Zotero will cease to show the related items on the pop-up menu -- I will see simply a blank outline of the rectangle where the related items should appear. I can wait seemingly forever, and the outline never 'populates' with the related items.

The only "solution" I have found thus far is to restart Zotero and make a few more notes or relations before it becomes buggy again and I have to restart again.

Any ideas what may be causing this new problem? It isn't occurring on my other installation, on the computer that has been functioning throughout, so I don't believe it is related to a problem with the database.

Thanks!
  • Can you take a screenshot of that, upload it somewhere (e.g., Dropbox), and provide a link here, as well as a Report ID from after this occurs?
  • Hi, thanks for the quick reply.

Here is a shareable link to a jpg of zotero when it stops working and it has a 'ghost' rectangle where the 'related' notes items should appear. https://photos.app.goo.gl/Du542JWGvPfvodzS8

The report ID that came up when I ran the 'report errors' tool was: 919435018

Thanks.

I apologize if I'm not able to respond promptly on the computer having troubles, I'm off to work now and won't have access to the problematic computer again for about another 6 hours.
  • Hi there,

Does anyone have any suggestions on this? I'm still having the same problems.

Thanks again.
  • It shouldn't matter, but does this still happen if you restart Zotero and then leave the left-hand pane open?