Enable Zotero integration with in third party website

Hi All,

I am pretty new to Zotero and still learning how this is different from the other reference managers like mendeley and ref works.

Currently i am a developer from one of the well renounced website where we are providing searching capability for journal, articles, patents etc.

Recently we are seeing lots of requests from end customers to have a zotero integration within our site. I started reading some documentation regarding like translators, web apis etc. I would like to know what would be the best approach to enable zotero with in our website.

Already we have provided our support to mendeley via there APIs using oauth2 protocal. Is there any option like that available in Zotero to register our web site as one of the client and interact with the zotero APIs on behalf of the end users(who are zotero users).

This option enables us to align with existing integration techniques with other reference managers like refworks and mendeley . This way, we can do more customization from our website to integrate with these reference manager services.

Also would like to know the pros and cons of this approach(if it is possible) compare to other possible integration options.

I tried adding the chrome plugin into my browser and really liked the idea about how it senses the articles presense with in the webpages like google scholar and amazon. Is it the best approach? do we have any limitation on specific browser supports.

We are supporting wide variety of browsers, we wanted to provide this feature irrespective of what browser the end user is using. This is one of the reason for looking to know about API approach.

Kindly provide me your valuable input. Thanks in advance.

Thanks,
Mohan
  • I tried adding the chrome plugin into my browser and really liked the idea about how it senses the articles presense with in the webpages like google scholar and amazon. Is it the best approach?