Standalone Notes Linking?

Hi,
I'm new to Zotero and am excited about the possibilities of it.

What I REALLY want is a tool that will provide traceability from the thoughts in my writing and outlining to the notes I take from references, and from those notes to the references themselves. To do this effectively, I feel like I need to be able to do this from a top down or bottom up approach. In other words, I want to be able to write ideas on 'standalone' notes and eventually link them up to one or more notes that are associated with a specific reference. OR, I might take notes from references directly and then eventually synthesize my own ideas on standalone notes.

It seems like Zotero is a great way to go from references to notes, but I can't find a way to link together different notes without references.

Does anyone know if there is a way to link the "standalone" notes to each other? Or, can a standalone note have a child note? I think this would do the trick.
  • CB
    edited May 22, 2009
    There isn't really anything at the moment. There is the 'related' thing (relation?). It's a bit clunky for my purposes, but you might want to explore it if you haven't already.

I've asked for something similar (http://forums.zotero.org/discussion/6962/links-between-notes-and-to-notes-from-outside-of-zotero/), but it appears to be something current Zotero users are a bit indifferent to. Which is odd to me, as hyperlinking seems to me the Sine qua non of computer text.

No-one's said "no", but I wouldn't hold your breath. For now I use Onenote, and link from zotero to there (which only half works). Unfortunately it isn't possible to link in the other direction.
  • It seems like Zotero is a great way to go from references to notes, but I can't find a way to link together different notes without references.