Zotero update notifications on accounts with insufficient priveleges (are annoying!)

I'm a student at a University with an installation of Zotero which badgers me constantly about updates it can't install because of insufficient priveleges. The developers had the foresight to even include this in the error message; they realise that their users won't always have the ability to update the software. Yet, I still get badgered to update. If you realise that I can't do anything about it (ITS staff don't like updating software unless we have a reason) then why not just leave us alone?
  • Zotero does not need the administrator privileges. You can click next (or close window with admin login) to continue in installation.
  • Well I get this message:

https://imgur.com/5wAURnW.png

in Zotero Standalone 4.0.29.17
  • Yes, the automatical installation does not work. But you can download Zotero manually and install it without administrator privileges.
  • edited February 15, 2018
    That didn't go well. Not only did it leave the old Zotero installation (called Zotero Standalone), it gave me some shortcuts to just "Zotero" (no Standalone; presumably Zotero has changed the name for version 5.0) and the executable that those shortcuts point to cannot be found (Windows offers to delete them). Whatever the installation did after I declined to give Administrator credentials, something didn't work.

It would be better if Zotero just didn't bother trying to bypass privelege restrictions and also didn't badger unpriveleged users about updating.
  • Currently, exist only one version of Zotero. Do you see Zotero in the Start menu?
    On the my notebook without administrator privilegues the Zotero is install in the path: C:\Users\<<user>>\AppData\Local\Zotero\Zotero.exe
  • There was a Zotero shortcut on the Start menu; however, when Windows suggested deleting it because it couldn't find what the shortcut pointed to, I said yes.