"Manage Attachment" and "Extract Annotation" do not appear when I right click

I am new to Zotera. I am using MacBook Air. I am using Chrome to download Zotero and Zotfile 5.0.6-fx.xpi. I drag a PDF from my Document, which I had downloaded earlier, and drop into my project folder in the My Library. I have done the 'rename'. I opened the PDF using the 'View PDF' icon. After highlighting the sentences and saved, now I place my cursor at the PDF and right click 'manage attachment' and 'Extract Annotation' did not appear.

What have I missed?
  • PDFs need to be attached to Zotero items for you to be able to use ZotFile functionality. Use retrieve metadata or create parent item.
    https://www.zotero.org/support/retrieve_pdf_metadata
  • Thank you for the speedy reply. I have done as you (or the link) suggested. Yet 'manage attachment' and 'extract annotation' did not appear.
    May be the Zotfile that I had downloaded is not 'attached' to Zotero. FYI,
    1) I can find the Zotfile in my 'Download' folder but not in the 'Application' folder.
    2) The Zotfile that I downloaded is a '.xpi' file and not 'dmg'
    3) My Zotero is 'dmg' file and can be found in the 'Application' folder.
  • To install Zotfile, in the Zotero app, click Tools->Add-ons. Then drag the Zotfile .xpi into the window that pops up.
  • Got it. Thank you Sirs.
  • Dear billykang, I have the same problem. Unfortunately, the comments have not helped me yet. Would you be willing to try to help me?
  • You will have to say more. You just have to download the latest version of Zotfile from Zotfile.com and install it in Zotero. What isn’t working for you?
  • Thanks for caring, bwiernik.
    I have failed to install Zotfile. Firefox does not allow me to download it. It does not tell why, but I have understood that I have a compatibility problem between Zotfile and Firefox.