Zotero standalone and Mozilla upgrade

Dear all,
I have been using zotero for nearly 7 years and I find it an excellent software because it is embedded in mozilla, automatically synchronised and so on. I received the sad news that mozilla does not allow this to happen. I wonder if there is a way around it. I tried Zotero 5 standalone and it does not sinc with the database online. I have been working on 2 machines and with zotero 5 I was not able to update each other. Is there a way to solve this?
  • Zotero 5 certainly syncs, but you'd have to say more about what exactly the problem is.

https://www.zotero.org/support/reporting_problems
  • Another option: Stay on Firefox 52 ESR 32bit and Zotero 4 for many years ahead. In there you can run Java, Unity, Flash and so on without any issues. And as with win XP (I still run that on a number of older PCs) all what we have heard about security issues has gone away. Nobody cares about trying to attack the old systems. Also I don't have to learn that much new, most that afterall will be changed over and over again before it is given up.
  • It is extremely unsafe to run an out of date unsupported browser. And Zotero 4 syncing will stop in the near future to permit long awaited changes to Zotero item types and fields. It’s will not be possible to continue using Zotero 4, nor will the volunteers or devs on these forums be able to provide support.
  • I am telling you that by experience it is more dangerous to run the things that is fashion than running the left behinds. Like all the crypto attacks they only did one thing on XP: blue screen of death. Reboot and nothing else had happened.

But serious: What does it mean that all Z4 syncing will stop. I kind of understand why, but if I am just running my own little world on my PC, will it not keep on running like nothing else has happened?
  • Like all the crypto attacks they only did one thing on XP: blue screen of death. Reboot and nothing else had happened.