why do zotero://select/item links not work in other software under ubuntu 16.04?

PROBLEM: My workflow involves consulting notes stored in Zotero 5.0.22 while writing in other software (Scrivener, LibreOffice Writer). On Windows 10, I am able to access these notes from those other software by creating hyperlinks to them using their zotero://select item ID: I click on the hyperlink in, say LibreOffice Writer, and Zotero opens and selects the note item in my library. However, I cannot get these hyperlinks to work under Ubuntu 16.04: clicking on them--whether in Scrivener or LibreOffice Writer--produces absolutely no result.

REQUEST: A search through forums and posts on the web suggests that the problem is possibly due to Ubuntu not recognising the zotero:// protocol and therefore not knowing what to do when I click on the hyperlinks. Is this correct? If so, how do I solve the problem? Various posts say I have to register the protocol with the operating system. I have no knowledge of programming, and the how-to's I found were too complicated for me. If non-recognition of the protocol is not the problem, then what is it? I would appreciate any help on this problem, if possible a simple how-to that does not involve complex code-writing.

APPRECIATION: To the great people behind Zotero, thank you so much for the marvelous software; and to the Zotero community, thanks for the great work addressing problems faced by programming-incompetents like me.

Thank you for your help.
  • Registering the protocol with the operating system is the way to go, yes. Unfortunately, as you've discovered, that's a bit of a mess on linux -- I'm not sure we're going to be able to do better that what you find on ask ubuntu or so, I'm afraid.